General Drive Smart Georgia FAQs
What services do you offer?
- Currently, we offer weekly classes for Drivers Ed, In-car Driving Lessons, On-site Road Test services and Defensive Driving Courses. We are licensed by the Department of Driver Services and our certifications are #568/#528 for Drivers Ed and Road Tests. Also, our certifications for Defensive Driving are #2119/#2072
How frequently will classes be offered?
- We offer our classes seven days a week. Click HERE for our complete class schedule.
What should I bring with me to class?
- Just bring yourself. All course materials are provided.
What forms of payment are accepted?
- Visa, MasterCard, Discover and AMEX are all acceptable forms of payment. We do not accept personal checks or cash.
Do you allow refunds?
- Rather than issue a refund, we will reschedule a class ONE TIME as a courtesy. There is a $100 Rescheduling Fee for any Drivers Ed class changed within 7 days of the scheduled course. A $95 Fee will be assessed for students who are late or fail to attend their scheduled Defensive Driving Course.
Drivers Ed & Driving Lessons FAQs
What is Joshua's Law?
- Joshua's Law is a new state requirement for teen drivers that started January 1, 2007. It states that if you are 16 years old, you must complete a Drivers Ed course approved by the Department of Driver Services in order to receive a Class D license. Individuals who do not complete an approved Drivers Ed Course must wait until age 17 to become licensed.
Do the same rules apply if my child is seventeen years old?
- No. He or she must have 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night. We still recommend a Drivers Ed Course for students learning to drive for the first time.
What if my child just moved to the state of Georgia?
- Any 16-year-old must take an approved Drivers Ed Course in order to be issued a license in Georgia. If your child has taken a course out of state, please contact the Department of Driver Services.
Where does my child go for lunch during the 30-hour course?
- We have a 45-minute to 1-hour lunch break (times vary depending on class schedule) every day. There are several local eateries within walking distance of our locations.
Can my child bring a lunch?
- Yes. Students are able to bring their lunch and eat at the driving school during their lunch break.
Do you perform any actual driving during the 30-hour course?
- No. We prefer to do the actual driving lessons after students have gained a foundation of knowledge in a classroom setting.
Can I get a group discount through online registration?
- Yes, please call our office directly at (770) 232-0903 and we will give you a "discount code" for your group.
Can my teen miss one day of Drivers Ed?
- No. The majority of our classes reach capacity and the State of Georgia only allows 30 students per class. Hence, we do not allow make-up students.
When do I receive my child's Certification of Completion?
- Within 72 hours of completing the entire Drivers Ed program (classroom + in-car driving lessons). We will email you a copy of your student's certificate issued by the Department of Driver Services (DDS).
When should we schedule "In-Car Driving Lessons"?
- We recommend ALL students schedule their "In-Car Driving Lessons" following the 30-hour Drivers Ed Course. Note: ALL "In-Car Driving Lessons" must be completed within 6 months of the 30-hour course.
Road Test FAQs
What are On-site Road Tests?
- The Department of Driver Services allows driving schools to become certified as Third Party Test Facilities which allows students to take their actual road test examination at the driving school.
Who can take the On-site Road Test at Drive Smart Georgia?
- To be eligible for the On-site Road Test service, you must complete the 30-Hour Classroom Course and at least 6-Hours of in-car driving lessons at our driving school as per Department of Driver Services regulations.
When can I schedule my On-site Road Test?
- Please call our office and set up an appointment the next business day following your last driving lesson. This allows us to verify your eligibility. All Department of Driver Services eligibility requirements must be adhered to when scheduling a Road Test as well.
What happens if I have to change my Road Test appointment?
- There will be a $50 Rescheduling Fee for any road test appointment changed within 10 days of the scheduled appointment.
What happens if I miss my Road Test appointment?
- Failure to appear for a Road Test appointment will result in a $50 No Show Fee.
Do you issue my driver's license?
- No. You will still have to go to the Department of Driver Services and present a certificate verifying that you have been tested by a Third Party Examiner and passed your road test. They will review all of your necessary documents and issue the photo license.
What happens if I fail the road test?
A Third Party Examiner may administer the road test twice according to Department of Driver Services regulations. As a courtesy, we currently administer the second test at no charge.
Defensive Driving Course FAQs
What is a Defensive Driving Course?
- This course is designed to teach you how to drive safely and responsibly by reviewing the basic rules of the road and covering many important Georgia highway laws. This course does NOT meet Georgia Joshua's Law Requirements.
How long is the course?
- This is a 6-hour class certified by the Georgia Department of Driver Services and is often required by Georgia courts.
How far in advance must I sign up for a class?
- We recommend you sign up the week prior to class to ensure your spot, but you can register online the night before (based on availability) or call (770) 232-0903 the day of class to check availability.
Can I take this course online?
- No. The Department of Driver Services requires that this course be taken by classroom instruction at a school certified for the Defensive Driving Program.
How often may I take this course for drivers license point reduction?
- This course can be taken once every 5 years to remove up to 7 points from your driving record.
How do I qualify for a reduction in my insurance premiums?
- Simply verify with your insurance agent that you are eligible for the reduction.
Will my teenager qualify for a reduction in insurance premiums?
- Check with your insurance agent for requirements.
By taking this course, may I receive credit for an insurance premium reduction, drivers license point reduction and other similar benefits?
- No. You may only use your "Certificate of Completion" in this class towards only ONE of the benefits above.
I was 5 minutes late and the instructor would not allow me to attend the class. Can they do that?
- YES. The Department of Driver Services STRICTLY FORBIDS late entry to class. Schools are required to deny entrance to any student that is not on time or late returning from breaks.
Can I get a refund from the school if I'm unable to attend the class or if I was denied entrance because I was late?
- Most schools will not issue refunds. We may allow you to attend another class.