Required documents to get a Georgia drivers license or learners permit

Required documents to get a Georgia drivers license or learners permit

Teens can’t wait to get their learner’s permit, and then their license to drive. However, before heading to the Department of Driver Services for either, parents will need to do a bit of homework beforehand to make sure you have all the required documents. If not, you’ll be turned away and will have to make another trip. A little preparation can eliminate and hassles, headaches and valuable time.

Georgia Learner’s Permit:
To get a Georgia learner’s permit, your child must be 15 years or older. The parent must be present to sign the application. Your teen will need to pass an eye test and a two-part knowledge exam that pertains to road rules. Hint, hint…All questions are based on material in the Georgia Driver’s Manual! You can pick up a hard copy at any DDS location or download it at the Georgia DDS website. The key to passing the learner’s permit test on the first try is to study, study, study the manual and take some online practice tests. The exam is conducted on a walk-in basis only. You have to be there at least 30 minutes prior to closing time to begin the test.

Required documents to take the Georgia Learner’s Permit Test:

  • 1 document: Proof of identity (passport, birth certificate, etc.)
  • 1 document: Proof of social security number (social security card, W-2, etc.)
  • 2 documents: Proof of residence (utility bill, financial statement, etc.)
  • 1 document: Proof of US citizenship (birth certificate) or lawful presence in the US
  • Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form notarized by your teen’s high school (valid for 30 days; during the summer form is valid from May-August)

Georgia Driver’s License:
The requirements to get a Georgia driver’s license differ for 16-18 year olds. All applicants (regardless of age) must pass the road skills test with a minimum score of 75%. If your teen is 16 or 17, a parent or guardian must be present. The fee for a Georgia Class D license is $10.

Georgia driver’s license: 16-Year-Olds
Joshua’s Law requires that all 16-year-olds must complete a 30-hour Driver’s Ed course, plus a minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving experience with at least six hours of night driving.

Required documents for 16-year-olds:

  • Valid learner’s permit for one year and one day
  • Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance notarized by the school
  • ADAP Certificate (provided by high school upon request)
  • Certificate of Completion of a 30-hour Driver’s Ed course at a state-certified driving school
  • A Driving Experience Affidavit must be completed at the DDS affirming the applicant has a minimum of 40 hours of driving, 6 of which must be at night. Parents will sign the form at the DDS, so you don’t have to bring it with you.
  • Must present valid registration and insurance for vehicle used on road test (not required to be in applicant’s name)

Georgia driver’s license: 17-Year-Olds
Joshua’s Law requires that all 17-year-olds must have a minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving experience with at least six hours of night driving.

Required documents for 17-year-olds:

  • Valid learner’s permit for one year and one day
  • Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance notarized by the school
  • ADAP Certificate (provided by high school upon request)
  • A Driving Experience Affidavit must be completed at the DDS affirming the applicant has a minimum of 40 hours of driving, 6 of which must be at night. Parents will sign the form at the DDS, so you don’t have to bring it with you.
  • Must present valid registration and insurance for vehicle used on road test (not required to be in applicant’s name)

Georgia driver’s license: 18-Year-Olds
Obtaining a Class C license for the first time is different than updating your Class D to Class C license. All 18-year-old applicants must pass the road skills test with a minimum score of 75%. Fee is $20 for a Class C license. To update a Class D license to Class C, simply go to the DDS and have them replace your old Class D license with a new Class C license.

Required documents for 18-year-olds:

  • Valid learner’s permit (one year and one day rule does not apply. Applicant may obtain learner’s permit and Class D license on the same day)
  • Must present valid registration and insurance for vehicle used on road test (not required to be in applicant’s name)

CLICK HERE get our free newsletter and teen driving tips for parents!

Related articles:


Get Social! Share Required documents to get a Georgia drivers license or learners permit

The DSG Blog

What is Joshua’s Law? A guide for parents to limit teen driver dangers

What is Joshua’s Law and how can it help keep your teen driver safe on the road in 2020 and beyond? Getting a driver’s license ...

Read More!

Get Social

Follow us on social media for announcements and exclusive offers

Join our Newsletter

Our newsletter includes the latest announcements, offers and scheduling releases