How to get a driver’s license in Georgia

How to get a driver’s license in Georgia

Getting a license to drive is a rite of passage for new teen drivers. Not only does it give them the freedom of mobility, it also signifies the beginning of a new, responsible era. While new teen drivers are excited about their newfound freedom, their parents are often overwhelmed and worried. The key to getting a driver’s license in Georgia is to exactly follow state requirements, which vary according to the age of the new driver.

Joshua’s Law was enacted in Georgia in 2007. According to the Georgia Dept. of Driver Services (DDS), the bill changed the requirements that teen drivers must meet in order to obtain a Class D driver’s license in the state of Georgia. Under Joshua’s Law, for teens to get a license at the age of 16, they must first complete a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services and have a cumulative total of at least forty hours of other supervised driving experience, including at least six hours at night. If a teen driver has not completed an approved driver’s education course, he or she cannot get a Class D driver’s license until they reach age seventeen. Remember, forty hours of driving experience, including six hours of driving at night, are always required for a Class D driver’s license in Georgia.

Georgia License Requirements for 16-Year-Old New Drivers:

  • Joshua’s law requires that all 16-year-olds must complete a 30-hour approved Driver’s Ed course, plus have a minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving experience with at least six hours of driving at night.
  • Applicants must pass the road skills test with a minimum score of 75%.
  • A parent or guardian must be present.
  • Fee is $10 for a Class D license.

Checklist of Required Documents for 16-Year-Olds:

  • Valid Learner’s Permit for one year and one day
  • Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance notarized by the school (valid for 30 days; valid May-August during the summer)
  • ADAP Certificate
  • Certificate of Completion of 30-hour Driver’s Ed course at a state-certified driving school
  • A Driving Experience Affidavit must be completed at the Department of Driver Services affirming the applicant has a minimum of 40 hours of driving, 6 of which must be at night. (Parents will sign form at the DDS, so you don’t have to bring it with you.)
  • Must present valid registration and insurance for vehicle used on road test (not required to be in applicant’s name)

Georgia License Requirements for 17-Year-Old New Drivers:

  • All 17-year-old applicants must have a minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving experience, with at least 6 hours of night driving.
  • Applicants must pass the road test skills test with a minimum score of 75%.
  • A parent or guardian must be present.
  • Fee is $10 for a Class D license.

Checklist of Required Documents for 17-Year-Olds:

  • Valid Learner’s Permit for one year and one day
  • Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance notarized by the school (valid for 30 days; valid May-August during the summer)
  • ADAP Certificate
  • A Driving Experience Affidavit must be completed at the Department of Driver Services affirming the applicant has a minimum of 40 hours of driving, 6 of which must be at night. (Parents will sign form at the DDS, so you don’t have to bring it with you.)
  • Must present valid registration and insurance for vehicle used on road test (not required to be in applicant’s name)

Georgia License Requirements for 18-Year-Old New Drivers:

  • Obtaining a Class C license for the first time is different than updating your Class D to Class C license.
  • All 18-year-old applicants must pass the road test skills test with a minimum score of 75%.
  • Fee is $20 for a Class C license.
  • To update a Class D license to Class C, simply go to the DDS and have them replace your old Class D license with a new Class C license.

Checklist of Required Documents for 18-Year-Olds:

  • Valid Learner’s Permit (one year and one day rule does not apply). Applicant may obtain learner’s permit and Class D license on the same day.
  • Must present valid registration and insurance for vehicle used on road test (not required to be in applicant’s name.)

CLICK HERE get our free newsletter and teen driving tips for parents!


Get Social! Share How to get a driver’s license in Georgia

The DSG Blog

Zoom Drivers Ed classes are now available at Drive Smart Georgia

Did you know that Zoom Drivers Ed classes are now available at Drive Smart Georgia? That’s right. Your teen can take the required 30-hour Drivers ...

Read More!

Get Social

Follow us on social media for announcements and exclusive offers

Join our Newsletter

Our newsletter includes the latest announcements, offers and scheduling releases